In Region V Chicago , the States of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Wisconsin allow minors to hold title to real or personal property and minors can be shown as the titleholder of such property. In Ohio, a minor can hold title to real or personal property, but a minor can purchase and own an automobile only if the minor's parent or guardian expressly authorizes that purchase. In Minnesota, a minor can hold title to real or personal property, but a State statute prohibits a minor from owning an automobile except in certain circumstances. You asked us to determine whether minors are allowed to hold title to real or personal property in the six states in our region, and, if so, whether there are any restrictions on the age of the minor or the types of property that a minor could hold. You also asked us to determine whether there are any specific requirements on how the property should be titled to reflect the minor as the titleholder.
Jump to navigation Skip navigation. In and , the state legislature expanded the Sex Offender Registration Act SORA , originally passed in , creating harsher measures for registrants. The amendments retroactively made most registrants register for life and imposed geographic exclusion zones barring them from living, working, or spending time with their children in large areas of every city and town. Additionally, the legislature added extensive and onerous new in-person reporting requirements that make it a crime for registrants to borrow a car, travel for a week, or get a new email account without immediately notifying the police. The changes were imposed without due process or a mechanism for review or appeal for the vast majority of registrants. Last year the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals declared that portions of the law are unconstitutional and held that restrictions added to the law cannot be applied to people convicted before the changes went into effect. The state appealed that ruling to the U.
This toolkit tells you about emancipation of a minor child. For general information about emancipation, read the Articles. Read the Common Questions if you have a specific question. If you want to ask the court to emancipate you, use the Forms link to prepare your forms. The Checklist below has step-by-step instructions for asking a court to emancipate you.
Two new laws signed by Lt. The law extends the station of limitation in sexual assault cases, bringing it to 15 years in criminal cases and 10 years in civil cases. The bills also allow for a civil action, if criminal proceedings have not been brought. A civil case must be brought before the survivor is years-old or three years after the victim discovers they have been the victim of sexual assault.